WSSCA Awards
and Recognition


Through our Coordinator of the Year Award, we recognize one of our WSSCA members who have demonstrated leadership, innovation and special skills and talents that have contributed to the improvement and maintenance of high-quality safety and security environments in their schools and communities.

The WSSCA School Safety Coordinator of the Year Award is co-sponsored by Community Insurance Corporation, which will present a $1,000 award to the winner’s school district safety program. 

Nominations for our School Safety Coordinator of the Year Award are open each year January 1 through December 31. The award is presented at our annual conference each year.


Leadership for district or school program change

The candidate has demonstrated leadership and has provided examples of a proven record of change in the dynamics of safety within the school and or district. Candidate has demonstrated sustained change over time in the implementation of safety programs for district or school compliance with standards.

Techniques developed or innovations used in program development including special projects.

The candidate has demonstrated the development of specialized techniques/innovations and has demonstrated excellence through the completion of specialized safety related projects.

Training and Specialized Skills.

The candidate has demonstrated a continuance in skill development and/or specialized skills used in the furtherance of the school safety program. The candidate possesses specialized skills learned through training or special programs. The candidate has demonstrated through examples of work, that the skills developed as part of ongoing training have lent themselves to the development of the safety program and the impetus to move the safety program.

Participation in WSSCA Events

The candidate is a member of WSSCA; has participated in WSSCA training opportunities offered through the association; has been involved as a board member or active participant in WSSCA. Graduation from the WSSCA Certification Course is an exceptional accomplishment and will be given special consideration by the judges. 

The School Safety Coordinator of the Year Award applications will be judged by the WSSCA Board of Directors and Advisor's.


2021: Chris Collar

Green Bay Area School District

2020: Shelley Joan Weiss

Sun Prairie Area School District

2019: Carrie Hallquist

Eau Claire Area School District

2018: Mike Hinske

Big Foot Union High School

2017: Mary Stapenek and Denise Woodruff 

Waterford Graded School District

2016: Dale Zable and Laura Lloyd

Kettle Moraine School District

2015: Gary Siegman

Whitefish Bay School District

2014: Tom Wohlleber

Middleton-Cross Plains Area School District

2013: John Koster

Cedarburg School District

2012: Steve Lewis

Rice Lake Area School District

2011: Joe Bellomo

Waunakee Community School District

2010: Cindy VanPelt

Racine Unified School District

2009: Tom Grosjean

Ashland School District

2008: Tim Prunty

Antigo School District

2007: Mark Scullion

Monona Grove School District

2006: Robert Severson

Chippewa Falls Area Unified School District

2005: Erin Gauthier-Green

Greendale School District

2004: Ron Hoffman

Oconomowoc School District

2003: Warren Schmidt

West Bend School District

2002: Sam Hesse

Appleton Area School District

2001: Paul Buchholz

Beaver Dam School District

2000: Doug Reynolds

Beloit School District

1999: Douglas Fisk

Baraboo School District

1998: Lee Jorgenson

Schofield D.C. Everest


We have all known someone who has made a difference in our lives; in our organizations; in our profession. With more than 300 members throughout the states of Wisconsin, Illinois, and Minnesota, finding outstanding professionals has never been a problem for this organization. Yet, recognizing those who have been accepted by their colleagues as the “best of the best,” has been, and should be, an infrequent honor bestowed upon very few – those of extraordinary success who have devoted their professional lives to WSSCA’s mantra: Keep Schools Safe.

WSSCA has reserved special recognition for these exceptional men and women. It is the highest award we present, and the name itself speaks volumes to the level of accomplishment and respect the recipient has earned over the course of his/her outstanding career.  


We simply call it the Lifetime Achievement Award.

As you read each name below, consider that thousands of WSSCA members over the past four decades who have been eligible. Maybe then you will understand the impact these individuals have had on this organization, the school safety discipline, and the students and schools we serve.

WSSCA is one of the oldest school safety organizations in the entire United States of America – and this is our Hall of Fame. We proudly present the recipients of the WSSCA Lifetime Achievement Award. 



2019: Mike Hinske

Big Foot Union High School 

2016: Peter Pochowski

Former WSSCA Executive Director


2014: Joel Konze

Sparta Area School District  

2013: Gary Rosploch

Muskego-Norway School District 

2011: Robert Severson

Chippewa Falls Area School District 

2010: Bryan Roessler

former WSSCA Executive Director 

2008: Doug  Reynolds

Beloit School District

2003: Richard "Dick" Klawiter

University of Wisconsin-Platteville 

Friend of WSSCA

2016: Issy Pochowski

2015: Steve Fernan, DPI

2010: Bryan Roessler

former WSSCA Executive Director 

2007: Mary Jean Erschen, Executive Director, Center for School, Youth & Citizen Preparedness


Our primary advertisers and sponsors are our allies and our go-to resources. They are industry experts and great champions of our schools. We invite you to click each logo to learn more about these wonderful local companies.